Freelance Photographer

Currumbin Rock

Every time I come to the Gold Coast, I relax too much and don’t get out and shoot enough, I thought today was a good day to set the alarm for 4:20am and head off to Currumbin Rock to get a nice sunrise shoot in.  Didn’t think I would make it as it was getting pretty light as I was driving past Palm Beach and was tempted to just get a beach shot in, but that’s not my style, so I kept on driving.  My 4-yr old son begged to come last night, so I woke him up at 4:25 and he reluctantly made it to the car and went back to sleep.  I hiked out to location with my 15kg backpack on (all my gear in it) and my 16kg son on my hip.  Thank god, I have been going to the gym or I would have been dead once I got there.  The sun took forever to come up, it was supposed to be sunrise at 5:28am, but it didn’t seem to breach the horizon til around 5:40am, which is when I got this shot.  Not an overly exciting sunrise to say the least, but I’m happy with the shot.  Loads of keen fishermen up at this early hour.  Technical notes: 5:40am, 14 february 2011, iso100, f/13, 1/5 sec, 24mm, 24-70mm canon l series lens, lee soft grad filter 0.9, canon 1d mark iv

 

Happy Valentines Day!!!

Leave a Reply

